ASEC team at Asian People Forum 2018: Advocating Transformative Economies through SSSE & SDGs

This post is also available in: French, Spanish

Last week, members of ASEC – RIPESS Asia participated in the ASEAN People Forum, an annual meeting of Civil Society Organizations held this year in Singapore. Denison Jayasooria, chair of ASEC – RIPESS Asia shares in this article the main issues that were discussed over three days. 

Seven member Asian Solidarity Economy Council (ASEC) team participated at the ASEAN People Forum (APF). They were Dr Ben Quinones (Philippines), Dr Eri Trinurini & Chandra Firmantoko (Indonesia), Boonsom Namsomboon & Daodol Rummanpol and Kon Onn Sein & Dr Denison Jayasooria & (Malaysia)

APF or the ASEAN Civil society Conference is an annual gathering of CSOs in ASEAN interfacing with the ASEAN Summit. The 2018 gathering was hosted by Singapore and over 250 people gathered at the Singapore Polytechnic Graduates Guild in Singapore from Nov 2 to 4, 2018.

Plenary Sharing at APF

Both Dr Ben Quinones and Dr Denison Jayasooria were speakers at Day one plenary session. Denison highlighted the theme of Sustainable development goals- the 2030 agenda with that the ASEAN community vision of 2025 drawing complementarities & lessons. Ben on the other hand presented the fivefold agenda of SSE namely the triple bottom line (people, profits & environment) and two others namely governance & edifying values. We both noted that SSE could be a useful tool to realise the holistic goals of SDGs at the grassroots.

Workshop Sharing at APF

The ASEC Team hosted a workshop on day 2 on the theme Transformative Economic Movements at the ASEAN Grassroots: Hope & Inclusion. About thirty people participated at this WS1 held on Nov 3, 2018 from 11am to 1pm at ACSC/APF 2018 in Singapore. Here we made five presentations.

Denison presented an overview of SDGs, SSE & ASEAN community vision followed by the presentation of four case studies which are country specific. Onn Sein presented a micro case study from Malaysia of how a group of nomadic forest based indigenous community who were hunter & gathers are now organic vegetable farmers. Boobsoom highlight the story of the informal sector namely street vendors in Bangkok who were in solidarity for their business development but at the same time exercised their citizenship human rights in hosting a street demonstration to fights and advocacy their rights to undertake business activities without corruption and harassment of local city enforcement officials. Eri of Indonesia drew on the work of Bina Swadaya’s village revitalisation program to address rural-urban migrations well as migration to other countries as low skilled workers. Ben highlights the exploitation of poor peasants in Isabela province in Philippines highlighting their application to SDGs and SSE in their grassroots action.

We concluded the workshop noting the challenges and solutions needed. ASEC has recommendation that ASEAN CSO/NGOs undertake a mapping exercise of our activities with SDGs – goals, targets and indicators. We also have called for the write up of grassroots realties not just the description of human rights violations but the local solutions undertaken by the grassroots committees in addressing their economic, social & cultural rights as well as their civil & political rights.

Ripess
RIPESS is a worldwide network of continental networks promoting the Social Solidarity Economy, in order to transform our economy by putting people and the planet at the center of our activities.

ASEC SDG

L’équipe de l’ASEC au Asian People Forum 2018 : Promouvoir les économies transformatrices par le biais de l’ESS et des ODD

Cet article est également disponible en: Anglais, Espagnol

La semaine dernière, les membres de l’ASEC – RIPESS Asie ont participé au Forum des peuples de l’ASEAN, une réunion annuelle des organisations de la société civile tenue cette année à Singapour. Denison Jayasooria, Président de l’ASEC – RIPESS Asie partage dans cet article les principales questions qui ont été discutées pendant trois jours.

Sept membres de l’équipe de l’Asian Solidarity Economy Council (ASEC) ont participé au Forum des peuples de l’ASEAN (APF). Il s’agissait du Dr Ben Quinones (Philippines), du Dr Eri Trinurini & Chandra Firmantoko (Indonésie), de Boonsom Namsomboon & Daodol Rummanpol et Kon Onn Sein & Dr Denison Jayasooria & (Malaysia)

APF ou la Conférence de la société civile de l’ASEAN est un rassemblement annuel des OSC de l’ASEAN en interface avec le Sommet de l’ASEAN. Le rassemblement de 2018 a été accueilli par Singapour et plus de 250 personnes se sont réunies à la Singapore Polytechnic Graduates Guild à Singapour du 2 au 4 novembre 2018.

Partage en plénière à l’APF

Les Drs Ben Quinones et Denison Jayasooria ont tous deux pris la parole lors de la première journée de la session plénière. Denison a mis l’accent sur le thème des objectifs du développement durable – le programme de 2030 avec la vision communautaire de l’ASEAN de 2025 qui en tire des complémentarités et des leçons. Ben, d’autre part, a présenté l’agenda quintuple de l’ESS, à savoir le triple résultat net (personnes, bénéfices et environnement) et deux autres, à savoir la gouvernance et les valeurs édifiantes. Nous avons tous les deux noté que l’ESS pourrait être un outil utile pour réaliser les objectifs holistiques des ODD avec les membres sur le terrain.

Partage d’ateliers à l’APF

L’équipe de l’ASEC a organisé un atelier le deuxième jour sur le thème des mouvements économiques transformateurs de la base de l’ANASE : espoir et inclusion. Une trentaine de personnes ont participé à cet atelier 1 qui s’est tenu le 3 novembre 2018 de 11h à 13h à ACSC/APF 2018 à Singapour. Nous avons fait ici cinq présentations.

Denison a présenté une vue d’ensemble des ODD, de l’ESS et de la vision communautaire de l’ANASE, suivie de la présentation de quatre études de cas qui sont propres à chaque pays. Onn Sein a présenté une micro étude de cas de Malaisie sur la façon dont un groupe de communautés autochtones nomades vivant dans la forêt, qui étaient chasseurs et cueilleurs, sont maintenant des producteurs de légumes biologiques. Boobsoom a mis en lumière l’histoire du secteur informel, à savoir les vendeurs de rue à Bangkok, qui étaient solidaires de leur développement commercial mais qui, en même temps, ont exercé leurs droits civiques en organisant une manifestation de rue pour combattre et défendre leurs droits à entreprendre des activités commerciales sans corruption ni harcèlement des agents locaux chargés de faire respecter la loi.

De son côté, Eri d’Indonésie s’est appuyé sur le travail du programme de revitalisation des villages de Bina Swadaya pour faire face aux migrations rurales-urbaines ainsi qu’aux migrations vers d’autres pays en tant que travailleurs peu qualifiés. Ben a souligné l’exploitation des paysans pauvres dans la province d’Isabela aux Philippines en soulignant leur application aux ODD et à l’ESS dans leur action de base.

Nous avons conclu l’atelier en soulignant les défis et les solutions nécessaires. L’ASEC a recommandé que les OSC/ONG de l’ASEAN entreprennent un exercice de cartographie de nos activités avec les ODD – buts, cibles et indicateurs. Nous avons également demandé la rédaction d’un rapport sur les réalités de la base, non seulement sur la description des violations des droits de l’homme, mais aussi sur les solutions locales adoptées par les comités de base pour traiter de leurs droits économiques, sociaux et culturels ainsi que de leurs droits civils et politiques.

Ripess
RIPESS is a worldwide network of continental networks promoting the Social Solidarity Economy, in order to transform our economy by putting people and the planet at the center of our activities.

ASEC ODD RIPESS Asie Singapoure