RIPESS International advocacy work for the promotion of SSE

This post is also available in: French, Spanish

As a global network covering all continents, RIPESS is uniquely placed to undertake advocacy at different levels from local communities to international institutions, to ensure the promotion of SSE for sustainable, inclusive and transformative development from local to global levels.

Together with our members and international partners, we are working to raise the voice of SSE in international arenas, and to enhance cooperation between States and SSE networks and actors to support the construction of ecosystems that promote SSE development as the alternative development model, driven by the needs of peoples and communities, and the protection of our planet.

See also crosscutting information and RIPESS articles:

 

RIPESS international advocacy work in international arenas

We are leading the construction of SSE support ecosystems in different international arenas jointly with the continental and thematic member networks. This includes:

 

The UN Inter-Agency Task Force on SSE (UNTFSSE)

RIPESS has been participating in the UN Inter-Agency Task Force on SSE as an observer since its creation in 2013. We work side by side with UN Agencies and other international SSE networks to strengthen the SSE agenda in discussions and policy building at the global level.

 

The Global alliance aimed at the international recognition of the Social and Solidarity Economy / Pact for Impact

RIPESS has been closely involved with the initiative since the start of this process in 2019, and is co-moderating the working group on governance together with the French State Secretariat for SSE.

 

The Global Social Economy Forum (GSEF)

RIPESS is a member of GSEF and vice versa, and we working together to promote intense cooperation between social economy organizations and local governments. RIPESS has been actively present in all GSEF forums, has participated in the organising committees from the first one in Seoul to the most recent one in 2021 in México.

 

High Level Political Forum

As an observer member in the Economic and Social Council, we have been advocating in the different sessions of the HLPF (through the NGO constituency) urging for the need to include SSE in international strategies for the realisation of the Sustainable Development Goals. We are also working to ensure the inclusion of SSE in Voluntary National Reviews (VNR) presented by the Member States.

 

-Other international arenas

RIPESS is also sharing priorities and strategies in many other crosscutting international arenas such as the Global Platform for the Right to the City or the World Forum on Local Economic Development, and in many more thematic/sectorial focused arenas, related to SDGs, such as Food sovereignty and agroecology, Social Protection, Climate, Gender, (Fair) Trade, Ethical finance, Territorial development, Migration, etc.

Specifically linked to Food sovereignty, a particular emphasis is placed on the Civil Society and Indigenous People’s Mechanism of the UN Committee on Food Security, where policy for food and agriculture are developed. This work is carried out in conjunction with the International Planning Committee for Food Sovereignty (IPC), a strategic platform for the food sovereignty social movement that includes Urgenci, the sectorial member of RIPESS for this topic. This work carries over into continental and national work. Solidarity economy is one of the 10 Elements of Agroecology recognised by FAO, and is a key element in the Covid-19 Task Teamwork.

 

Subregional RIPESS SSE continental networks’ advocacy work

RIPESS supports the reinforcement and articulation of subregional advocacy strategies carried out by its continental member networks to build and promote subregional environments for and with national impact, in particular in National RIPESS SSE networks.

Each continental/subregional SSE network is active in specific subregional arenas in Asia, Africa, Latin America and Europe to promote SSE and favourable SSE ecosystems.

For instance, in the case of Europe: RIPESS Europe has also been increasingly working to ensure that solidarity economy is present in both the proposed Green Deal and Farm to Fork legislation.

 

By Juli Hernández

Ripess
RIPESS is a worldwide network of continental networks promoting the Social Solidarity Economy, in order to transform our economy by putting people and the planet at the center of our activities.

Actions de plaidoyer international du RIPESS pour la promotion de l’ESS

Cet article est également disponible en: Anglais, Espagnol

En tant que réseau mondial couvrant tous les continents, le RIPESS est particulièrement bien placé pour entreprendre un plaidoyer à différents niveaux, des communautés locales aux institutions internationales, afin d’assurer la promotion de l’ESS pour un développement durable, inclusif et transformateur, du niveau local au niveau mondial.

Ensemble, avec nos membres et nos partenaires internationaux, nous nous efforçons de faire entendre la voix de l’ESS dans les arènes internationales, et de renforcer la coopération entre les États et les réseaux et acteurs de l’ESS afin de soutenir la construction d’écosystèmes qui favorisent le développement de l’ESS comme modèle de développement alternatif, motivé par les besoins des peuples et des communautés, et la protection de notre planète.

Voir également les informations transversales et les articles du RIPESS :

 

Le travail de plaidoyer international du RIPESS dans les arènes internationales

Nous pilotons la construction d’écosystèmes de soutien à l’ESS dans différentes arènes internationales, conjointement avec les réseaux membres continentaux et thématiques. Cela inclut :

Le Groupe de travail inter-agences des Nations Unies sur l’Économie sociale et solidaire  (UNTFSSE)

Le RIPESS participe au groupe de travail inter-agences de l’ONU sur l’ESS en tant qu’observateur depuis sa création en 2013. Nous travaillons côte à côte avec les agences de l’ONU et d’autres réseaux internationaux de l’ESS pour renforcer l’agenda de l’ESS dans les discussions et l’élaboration des politiques au niveau mondial.

 

L’alliance globale visant à la reconnaissance internationale de l’économie sociale solidaire / Pact for Impact

Le RIPESS a été étroitement associé à l’initiative depuis le début de ce processus en 2019, et co-modère le groupe de travail sur la gouvernance avec le secrétariat d’État français à l’ESS.

 

Le Forum mondial de l’économie sociale (GSEF)

Le RIPESS est membre du GSEF, et vice versa, et nous travaillons ensemble pour promouvoir une coopération intense entre les organisations de l’économie sociale et les gouvernements locaux. Le RIPESS a été activement présent dans tous les forums du GSEF, a participé aux comités d’organisation, depuis le premier à Séoul jusqu’au plus récent en 2021 à México.

 

Forum politique de haut niveau

En tant que membre observateur du Conseil économique et social, nous avons plaidé lors des différentes sessions du HLPF (par le biais des ONG) en insistant sur la nécessité d’inclure l’ESS dans les stratégies internationales pour la réalisation des objectifs de développement durable. Nous travaillons également à l’inclusion de l’ESS dans les examens nationaux volontaires (VNR) présentés par les États membres.

 

Autres scènes internationales

Le RIPESS partage également des priorités et des stratégies dans de nombreuses autres arènes internationales transversales telles que la Plateforme mondiale pour le droit à la ville ou le Forum mondial sur le développement économique local, et dans de nombreuses arènes plus thématiques/sectorielles, liées aux ODD, comme la souveraineté alimentaire et l’agroécologie, la protection sociale, le climat, le genre, le commerce (équitable), la finance éthique, le développement territorial, la migration, etc.

Spécifiquement lié à la souveraineté alimentaire, un accent particulier est mis sur le mécanisme de la société civile et des peuples autochtones du Comité de la sécurité alimentaire des Nations Unies, où sont élaborées les politiques en matière d’alimentation et d’agriculture. Ce travail est réalisé en collaboration avec le Comité International de Planification pour la Souveraineté Alimentaire (IPC), une plateforme stratégique pour le mouvement social de la souveraineté alimentaire qui inclut Urgenci, le membre sectoriel du RIPESS pour ce sujet. Ce travail se répercute sur le travail continental et national. L’économie solidaire est l’un des 10 éléments de l’agroécologie reconnus par la FAO et constitue un élément clé du travail de l’équipe spéciale Covid-19.

 

Le travail de plaidoyer des réseaux continentaux d’ESS sous-régionaux du RIPESS

Le RIPESS soutient le renforcement et l’articulation des stratégies de plaidoyer sous-régionales menées par ses réseaux membres continentaux pour construire et promouvoir des environnements sous-régionaux pour et avec un impact national, en particulier dans les réseaux nationaux d’ESS du RIPESS.

Chaque réseau continental / sous-régional d’ESS est actif dans des arènes sous-régionales spécifiques en Asie, en Afrique, en Amérique latine et en Europe pour promouvoir l’ESS et des écosystèmes favorables à l’ESS.

Par exemple, dans le cas de l’Europe : RIPESS Europe a également travaillé de plus en plus pour s’assurer que l’économie solidaire est présente à la fois dans la proposition du Pacte Vert et dans la législation De la ferme à la table.

 

Par Juli Hernández

Ripess
RIPESS is a worldwide network of continental networks promoting the Social Solidarity Economy, in order to transform our economy by putting people and the planet at the center of our activities.