Youth and SSE at the 5th SSE African Meeting – July 2018

This post is also available in: French, Spanish

The theme for the bi-annual forum of the African network for Social and Solidarity Economy was “Social and Solidarity economy, a pathway for inclusive economic development and lasting peace”. It took place between 10th and 14th July.

Although it was originally supposed to have been organised by the Guinea network, it was finally held in Bamako, hosted by RENAPESS, the Mali network. The Guinea network was unfortunately unable to host the meeting for reasons beyond their control.

As planned in the programme, the Forum began on the 10th July with an official opening ceremony presided by the Mali Minister for Solidarity and Humanitarian Action. The Minister’s speech was rich and full of promise for RENAPESS and their partners. There were also presentation speeches, a welcome speech by the Mayor of Bamako and a speech to present the context made by the president of RAESS, Madani Coumaré. Both the government of Mali and the city of Bamako are genuine partners for developing SSE in Mali, as well as a source of inspiration for other African countries. The national policy on SSE and introduction of a specific instrument to promote SSE through the CNAPESS (National Centre for Supporting the Promotion of SSE) were presented.

Following these speeches, there was a visit to the stands and presentations of African initiatives were made by the different country networks. The countries that participated were: Senegal, Mali, Benin, Cameroon, Côte d’Ivoire, Togo, Guinea, Burkina Faso, Morocco and Tunisia. Each of these country networks made a brief report on their activities and presented their perspectives.

In the following days there were various other presentations and workshops that dealt with various issues (food and agriculture, social protection, gender, support mechanisms etc.) as well as the issues related to employment of youth and the strategies of social entrepreneurship.

The Forum showcased the potential and importance of SSE for African Youth

One of the key questions posed was how can sustainable social entrepreneurship operate in synergy with public policies in cities, and how can it be seen as a means of combatting illegal migration, rural exodus and promoting peace and prevention of crises?

Following various interventions and fruitful exchanges it became cleaar that the top priorities should be the practise of social entrepreneurship and education on citizenship and civic-mindedness. This would also require support from public authorities and partners if the youth initiatives are to be achieved.

A self-managed youth camp took place parallel to the Bamako meeting of RAESS. We have not yet received the full report from the camp organiser, but it is important ot mention that the youth perspective was mentioned from a continental perspective, with a view to building synergy between youth form the different member networks of RAESS.

Youth expressed their need to organise and implement the projects that are their priorities. This was possible thanks to the conference, training sessions and other exchanges that the youth held not only with the public body representatives, between their respective leaders but also with the RAESS representatives and the Executive Secretary of RIPESS who had been invited to participate.

The youth expressed their opinions very clearly and freely as well as the needs that should now be analysed to be the focus of discussions and preoccupations aimed at providing concrete, sustainable proposals.

Launch of a working area “Youth perspectives” for African Youth

After the Bamako meeting RAESS held their General Assembly and decided to establish a dynamic to link youth to all the country networks and thus develop synergies.

Each of the national network members of RAESS was asked to put forward the names of two young people to implement the project “Youth Perspectives”. Sylla Aboubakari of the Cote d’Ivoire network was designated to coordinate and implement the work together with Baba Cissé from Mali (RENAPESS)

This initiative will be called “Youth Perspective” and will enable the needs of youth in terms of training on citizenship and civic-mindedness to be met, as well as training on social entrepreneurship and support for developing social and solidarity initiatives and convergence of local and continental as well as international actions.

Our society is more and more complex and divided into silos. Youth therefore often find it difficult to find their way through segmented programmes. We need to provide adapted responses to their needs and support them. All youth should have their rightful place in public policies on SSE as well as in the dynamics developed by the actors and private partners in SSE. Given the growing needs, the key challenge is therefore to develop territorial solidarity at local level by building links and social networks. Citizens can thus play their part as actors within society.

The idea is therefore for RAESS to propose the creation of a working area called “Youth Perspective” within he RIPESS-Intercontinental to guarantee the synergy of different global practices and make the importance and potential of youth work more visible. This would imply setting up a working group within RIPESS with the participation of all the youth representatives of the different continental networks.

 

Sylla Aboubakari

Ripess
RIPESS is a worldwide network of continental networks promoting the Social Solidarity Economy, in order to transform our economy by putting people and the planet at the center of our activities.

Jeunesse et ESS à la 5ème Rencontre Africaine de l’ESS – Juillet 2018

Cet article est également disponible en: Anglais, Espagnol

Sous le Thème « l’Economie Sociale et Solidaire, Avenue de Développement Economique Inclusif pour la Paix durable », le forum bi-annuel organisé par les membres du Réseau Africain de l’Economie Sociale et Solidaire s’est tenu du 10 au 14 juillet.

Prévu pour être organisée par le Réseau Guinéen, il a finalement été organisé à Bamako par le réseau RENAPESS du Mali sur désistement de la Guinée qui s’est excusé pour des raisons indépendantes de sa volonté.

Comme prévu par le programme établi, le Forum a commencé le 10 juillet 2018 par une cérémonie officielle d’ouverture présidée par le Ministre Malien de la Solidarité et de l’Action Humanitaire qui à produit un discours très enrichissant et plein de promesses à l’endroit du RENAPESS et de ses partenaires. Avant lui, il y a eu les discours de présentation, les mots de bienvenue du Maire de Bamako et le discours de cadrage du Président du RAESS, Madani Koumaré. Tant le gouvernement malien que la ville de Bamako sont aujourd’hui de véritables partenaires pour le développement de l’ESS au Mali, ainsi qu’une source d’inspiration pour d’autres pays africains, de part notamment la politique nationale de l’ESS, et la mise en place d’un instrument de mise en oeuvre spécifique au travers du CNAPESS (Centre National d’Appui à la Promotion de l’ESS).

Après ces interventions, nous avons assisté à la visite des stands suivis des présentations et initiatives africains par des réseaux pays. Les pays présents étaient : Le Sénégal, Mali, le Bénin, le Cameroun, la Côte d’Ivoire, le Togo, la Guinée, le Burkina Faso, le Maroc et la Tunisie. Chacun de ces réseaux pays a pu faire un bref rapport de ses activités et présenter les perspectives qui en découlaient.

Dans les jours qui ont suivi, nous avons assisté à une série d’interventions suivis de plusieurs ateliers qui ont traité de questions diveres (agroalimentaire, protection sociale, genre, mécanismes d’accompagnement, etc.), et la problématique de l’emploi des jeunes par la stratégie de l’entrepreneuriat social.

Le Forum a fait valoir le potentiel et l’importance de l’ESS pour la Jeunesse Africaine

Entre autres s’est posée la question suivante : en quoi l’entrepreneuriat social durable en synergie avec les politiques publiques des villes pourrait-il être perçu comme un moyen de lutte contre l’immigration clandestine, l’exode rural et un moyen de promotion de la paix par la prévention des crises ?

Après plusieurs interventions et des échanges fructueux, il est notamment ressorti qu’il fallait absolument prioriser la pratique de l’entrepreneuriat social et l’éducation à la citoyenneté et l’esprit civique. Sans omettre que ceci devrait être suivi d’un accompagnement par les pouvoirs publics et par les partenaires en vue de voir se réaliser les initiatives des jeunes.

Parallèlement à ces assises, la rencontre de Bamako a accueilli la tenue d’un camp des jeunes géré par les jeunes eux-mêmes. En attendant le rapport global des organisateurs et animateurs de ce camp, il faut retenir que la perspective jeunesse à été évoquée surtout au plan continental en vue de mettre en synergie les Jeunesses des différents réseaux membres du RAESS.

Ainsi, les jeunes ont exprimé le besoin de s’organiser, de se former et mettre en œuvre les projets qui leur paraissent prioritaires. Ceci a été possible grâce à des conférences, séances de formation et autres échanges que les jeunes ont eu non seulement avec les représentants des pouvoirs publics, avec les représentants des membres du RAESS mais aussi avec la Secrétaire Exécutive du RIPESS qui a été invitée pour l’occasion.

Véritablement les jeunes se sont exprimés clairement et librement et ont exprimé des besoins qui méritent d’être analysés pour être mis au centre des débats et des préoccupations en vue de propositions concrètes et durables.

Lancement d’un axe de travail « Perspectives Jeunes » de mise en synergie de la jeunesse Africaine

A l’issue de la rencontre de Bamako 2018, l’AG du RAESS à décidé de la mise en place d’une dynamique qui devrait mettre en lien les jeunes de l’ensemble des réseaux pays pour les mettre en synergie.

Pour la mise en œuvre du Projet « Perspectives Jeunes », il a notamment été demandé à chaque Réseau National membre du RAESS de proposer deux jeunes par réseau pays pour la mise en synergie et M. SYLLA Aboubakari du réseau ivoirien a été désigné pour la coordination et la mise en ouvre en collaboration avec CISSE BABA du Mali (RENAPESS).

Appelée « Perspective Jeunesse », cette initiative devrait permettre de répondre aux besoins des jeunes en matière de formation à la citoyenneté et au civisme, d’’entrepreneuriat social et d’accompagnement au développement des initiatives sociales et solidaires, mais aussi développer une convergence de vue et d’actions au plan local, continental et international.

En effet, notre société est de plus en plus complexe et sectorisée. De ce fait, les jeunes ont souvent des difficultés pour se repérer dans des dispositifs segmentés. Nous devons leur offrir des réponses adaptées à leurs besoins, les accompagner et les soutenir. Chaque jeune doit avoir une place à part entière dans les politiques publiques de l’ESS, mais aussi dans les dynamiques développés par les acteurs et partenaires privés de l’ESS. Face aux besoins grandissants, les enjeux sont donc de développer les solidarités territoriales de proximité en déployant les liens et les réseaux sociaux. Ainsi, le citoyen pourra retrouver sa place d’acteur au sein de la société.

L’idée est donc également de proposer, depuis le RAESS, la création d’un axe « PERSPECTIVE JEUNESS » au niveau du RIPESS-Intercontinental, pour assurer une mise en synergie des différentes pratiques mondiales et une visibilisation de son importance et de son potentiel- Il s’agirait notamment de proposer la mise en place d’un groupe de travail au sein du RIPESS avec la participation de tous les représentants des jeunes des différents réseaux continentaux.

 

Sylla Aboubakari

Ripess
RIPESS is a worldwide network of continental networks promoting the Social Solidarity Economy, in order to transform our economy by putting people and the planet at the center of our activities.